BCCI Announces Team India Squad for Asian Games

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently unveiled the squad for the upcoming Asian Games 2023. The Indian cricket team will be sending a second-string side to compete in the men’s T20 competition, scheduled to take place from September 28 to October 8 in Hangzhou, China. In a significant development, Ruturaj Gaikwad, the promising batsman from Chennai Super Kings and Maharashtra, has been appointed as the captain of the team.

The announcement by BCCI not only revealed the composition of the squad but also showcased the organization’s commitment to nurturing young talent. Rinku Singh and Prabhsimran Singh have earned their maiden call-ups to the Indian team, signifying a remarkable achievement in their cricketing careers. Additionally, Jitesh Sharma and Washington Sundar have been recalled to the squad, further reinforcing the team’s depth and experience.

The selection process has predominantly favored players who showcased their prowess in the recently concluded IPL 2023. The squad comprises several young stars who have made a name for themselves in the tournament, earning recognition for their exceptional performances. While some of the players on the verge of inclusion in the World Cup squad were not considered for the Asian Games, this presents a tremendous opportunity for the chosen players to prove their mettle on the international stage.

Read: India Must Change Opening Pair to Win World Cup

Ruturaj Gaikwad, the newly appointed captain, will have the talented Yashasvi Jaiswal as his opening partner. Rahul Tripathi, who has previously represented the Indian team, makes a comeback to the side. The team’s middle order boasts the inclusion of Tilak Varma, who retains his place from the recent West Indies T20Is. Moreover, the return of Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Shivam Mavi adds depth to the batting and bowling departments.

Among the notable inclusions in the squad, Rinku Singh has caught the attention of selectors with his impressive performances in the middle-order. The Punjab Kings wicketkeeper-batsman, Jitesh Sharma, has also secured his spot in the T20 side for the Asian Games after being overlooked for the West Indies series. Additionally, Shivam Dube, who garnered praise for his powerful striking and ability to hit sixes at will while representing the Chennai Super Kings, has made a comeback to the national team after a considerable hiatus.

The men’s T20 competition at the Asian Games will be held from September 28 to October 8, and Team India is determined to showcase their talent and compete for glory. Led by Ruturaj Gaikwad, the squad is a blend of emerging talent and experienced players who possess the skills and potential to bring success to the nation.

Here is the complete Team India squad for the Asian Games:

  1. Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain)
  2. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  3. Rahul Tripathi
  4. Tilak Varma
  5. Rinku Singh
  6. Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper)
  7. Washington Sundar
  8. Shahbaz Ahmed
  9. Ravi Bishnoi
  10. Avesh Khan
  11. Arshdeep Singh
  12. Mukesh Kumar
  13. Shivam Mavi
  14. Shivam Dube
  15. Prabhsimran Singh (wicketkeeper)

Standby list of players:

  1. Yash Thakur
  2. Sai Kishore
  3. Venkatesh Iyer
  4. Deepak Hooda
  5. Sai Sudarsan

Top 5 Youngest Indian Batsmen to Watch Out for in 2023

In conclusion, the announcement of the Team India squad for the Asian Games has generated significant excitement among cricket enthusiasts. The BCCI’s decision to entrust young players with leadership roles and provide opportunities to emerging talent reflects their commitment to the future of Indian cricket. With Ruturaj Gaikwad at the helm, the team looks forward to making a mark in the upcoming T20 competition and showcasing their skills on the international stage.


Who will captain the Indian cricket team for the Asian Games?

Ruturaj Gaikwad, the talented batsman from Chennai Super Kings, has been appointed as the captain of the Indian cricket team for the Asian Games.

Which players have earned their maiden call-ups to the Indian team?

Rinku Singh and Prabhsimran Singh have earned their maiden call-ups to the Indian team for the Asian Games.

Wh are the standby players for the Asian Games squad?

The standby players for the Asian Games squad are Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudarsan.

When and where will the men’s T20 competition be held at the Asian Games?

The men’s T20 competition will take place from September 28 to October 8 in Hangzhou, China, as part of the Asian Games 2023.

What is the significance of the BCCI’s selection approach for the Asian Games squad?

The BCCI has primarily considered players who showcased their talent in the IPL 2023, emphasizing their commitment to nurturing young talent and providing them with international exposure.

There is more different information on Germany betting exchange.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *