India vs West Indies Tour 2023: India’s Test and ODI Squad Announced

India vs West Indies tour 2023: In a much-anticipated move, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently unveiled the Test and One-Day International (ODI) squads for the upcoming tour of the West Indies. The announcement brought both excitement and surprises as some familiar faces were omitted, making way for fresh talents. Below we will tell you the squads announced for India vs West Indies tour 2023. (Interested in Orbit Exchange or Betting Exchange?)

India vs West Indies tour 2023 Test Squad Revelations

The Test squad saw the exclusion of experienced campaigners Cheteshwar Pujara and Umesh Yadav, who failed to leave a lasting impact during the World Test Championship (WTC) final. Pujara’s struggles with the bat since his return to the side and Yadav’s lackluster performance against Australia in the WTC final eventually led to their omission.

However, the selectors didn’t shy away from embracing young talent. Yashasvi Jaiswal, the dynamic top-order batter who garnered attention with his stellar performances in the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL), earned a well-deserved maiden Test call-up. Jaiswal’s remarkable consistency, along with an impressive first-class record, made him an irresistible choice for the selectors. With an average of 80.21 in 15 matches, including nine centuries and a highest score of 265, Jaiswal possesses immense potential.

Joining Jaiswal in the squad is pacer Mukesh Kumar, who also earned his maiden Test call-up. The selectors recognized Kumar’s contributions and rewarded him for his consistent performances in domestic cricket.

Navdeep Saini Returns in the India vs West Indies tour 2023

The Test squad also witnessed the return of Navdeep Saini, who has been out of action for quite some time. Saini’s comeback reflects his resurgence and highlights the faith the selectors have placed in his abilities.

Read more: Breaking News: Gündogan Completes Free Transfer to Barcelona

Furthermore, Ajinkya Rahane, who had been out of the scheme of things for around 15 months, received a major boost as he was appointed the vice-captain of the Test side. Rahane’s remarkable display in the WTC final, where he emerged as India’s top run-scorer, played a pivotal role in his elevation.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, initially chosen as a backup opener for the WTC final, found his place in the Test squad for the two-match series against the West Indies. Despite being replaced by Jaiswal due to personal commitments, Gaikwad’s potential didn’t go unnoticed by the selectors.

The ODI Squad Selection

Shifting the focus to the ODI squad, the absence of Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant paved the way for Sanju Samson to take the responsibility of the wicketkeeper-batter, alongside Ishan Kishan.

Suryakumar Yadav, despite his underwhelming performances in the 50-over format thus far, was backed by the selectors to occupy the crucial No.4 spot. With Iyer and Pant unavailable, Yadav has an opportunity to showcase his skills and cement his place in the side.

Pace and Spin Combination

The pace department will be spearheaded by the talented Mohammed Siraj, who will receive support from Shardul Thakur and Jaydev Unadkat. Meanwhile, Umran Malik made a successful comeback into the side, while Mukesh Kumar also earned a place in the ODI squad.

Read more: Mohamed Salah transfer to Saudi Arabia?

In the spin department, the selectors opted for the established trio of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja, along with the reliable Axar Patel.

The West Indies tour promises an enthralling spectacle as the Indian team showcases a fine blend of experienced campaigners and young talents. The upcoming series will serve as a platform for the new faces to prove their mettle and contribute to the team’s success.

India’s Test squad for West Indies series: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

India’s ODI squad for West Indies series: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

So these were the Indian squad for India vs West Indies tour 2023.

There is more different information on Germany betting exchange.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *